Get Classic Rock News Headlines in your inbox daily!  Click here to subscribe!
Box Set of Deep Purple's '70s Albums Due out in October
By: AnnMarie Scaramuzzino

Deep Purple’s
taking it back to the ‘70s with their latest release.

Music Tap reports that the band has announced a special box set due this fall, which will feature ten of their most prominent releases from 1970 – 1976 with guitarist Ritchie Blackmore at the helm.

The discs include: 1969’s Deep Purple with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: Concert for Group and Orchestra, 1970’s Deep Purple In Rock, 1972’s Machine Head and Made in Japan, 1973’s Who Do We Think We Are?, 1974’s Burn and Stormbringer and 1975’s Come Taste the Band and Made in Europe.

Other iconic Deep Purple members featured on the albums are singers Ian Gillan and David Coverdale, drummer Ian Paice, bassists Roger Glover and Glenn Hughes and the late keyboardist, Jon Lord.

Deep Purple: The Complete Albums 1970 – 1976 is set for release on October 8 via Rhino Records, and is available now for pre-order at

For more on all things Deep Purple, head to the band’s official website and be sure to share your thoughts with us in the comments section below!

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend

More From WCSX