Get Classic Rock News Headlines in your inbox daily!  Click here to subscribe!
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Scores Fleetwood Mac's “Rumours”
By: Amber Harvey

The London-based Royal Philharmonic Orchestra announced via official press release today that they have scored their own version of the seminal Fleetwood Mac album, Rumours, which will feature a guest appearance by the legendary Peter Frampton.

With previous covers of such hits as Pink Floyd’s “Another Brick in the Wall,” Queen’s “We Are the Champions,”Huey Lewis’s “Power of Love” and the Animals’ House of the Rising Sun,” this latest release from the RPO further proves the musical camp’s ear for timeless Rock and Roll.

In recreating the 1977 LP, more than 50 musicians joined arrangers James Graydon and Richard Cottle in the Rumours recording sessions at the historic Abbey Road Studios. “Rumours was such an important album in terms of both songwriting and production,” said Graydon in the press release. “Although we were mindful of the fact that these songs are very well known, we decided to approach the arrangements from a slightly different perspective to make it work in the orchestral world.”

“Well-known” is a bit of understatement when referring to the Fleetwood Mac album, as it is listed as the the “10th best-selling album ever with more than 40 million copies sold to date, and it features four top 10 singles,” CNN reports.

“We now have a fantastic album and hope that it will appeal to all generations,” stated Anthony Klein, the project’s executive producer, who added that, “It was a privilege to work with the Royal Philharmonic, and to have them play and record those classic songs in such an iconic room as Studio 2 at Abbey Road made the whole project even more epic.”

The track listing for the new Rumours is as follows:

  1. Second Hand News
  2. Dreams
  3. Never Going Back Again
  4. Don’t Stop
  5. Go Your Own Way
  6. Songbird
  7. The Chain
  8. You Make Loving Fun
  9. I Don’t Want To Know
  10. Oh Daddy
  11. Gold Dust Woman feat. Peter Frampton

To experience this classic album as you never have before, be sure to check it out on iTunes or Amazon.

Meanwhile, Fleetwood Mac is set to embark on a second leg of concerts for their 2013 reunion tour, beginning on September 20 in Dublin, Ireland. More info on that here.

For further information on the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, visit their website, and let us know what you think of this orchestral take on a Rock and Roll classic in the comments section below!

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend

More From WCSX