Get Classic Rock News Headlines in your inbox daily!  Click here to subscribe!
The Family of the Late Roy Orbison Releases Fan’s Bootleg Concert
By: Amber Harvey

The family of Roy Orbison has released the first album in their forthcoming series of fan-submitted, bootleg concert recordings, says the late blues rocker’s website.

The Mercy Records-released Roy Orbison: Live at the Old Waldorf, submitted by Orbison fan and cartoonist Dan Celli, captures the Big O’s performance at San Francisco’s Old Waldorf on July 17, 1982, with the following track list:

1. Intro/Only The Lonely
2. Leah
3. Dream Baby
4. In Dreams
5. Mean Woman Blues
6. Blue Bayou
7. Candyman
8. Crying
9. Crying Reprise
10. Ooby Dooby
11. Hound Dog Man
12. Working for the Man
13. That Loving You Feeling Again
14. Go! Go! Go! (Down the Line)
15. It’s Over
16. Oh, Pretty Woman
17. Running Scared

The live performance, originally recorded on ¼” tape, has been re-mastered by Grammy-winning engineer Richard Dodd to showcase “the raw power of Orbison’s vocal range.”

“Some crowd noise is to be expected, as this is a live recording,” adds the 1960s crooner’s website, “but it only adds to the uniqueness of this show.”

Live at the Old Waldorf is the first LP to come from the “Bootleg Bounty Program” at, which Orbison’s family has created as a means to collect fan-captured bootleg recordings for subsequent re-mastery and commercial release.

To preview Roy Orbison: Live at the Old Waldorf, click here, and please share with us your thoughts on the Orbison family’s bootleg campaign in the comments section below!

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend

More From WCSX