Get Classic Rock News Headlines in your inbox daily!  Click here to subscribe!
Jimi Hendrix's Monterey Pop Guitar Sold at London Auction
By: AnnMarie Scaramuzzino

One of the most memorable images in Rock and Roll history is of Jimi Hendrix kneeling before his flaming guitar at the Monterey Pop Festival in 1967. But if you were to see his formerly favorite axe in present day, you’d notice it was in great condition.

No, it hasn’t been restored; the guitar was never burned in the first place.

Many are unaware that Hendrix actually switched his favorite guitar for another one just seconds before performing the now infamous stunt, being unable to part with his black Fender Stratocaster. After his death, the guitar landed in the hands of his manager, James Wright.

On Tuesday (November 27th), that un-charred guitar was sold for £237,000 (roughly $380,000) at London’s Fame Bureau.

According to The Metro, Wright said that the reason behind Hendrix’s pyro-stunt was simple: he wanted to outdo Pete Townshend, guitarist for The Who, who had smashed up his instrument on that same stage in a performance hours earlier.

And we think it’s safe to say, Jimi definitely one-upped Pete in the shock department.

In other Hendrix news, an album of never-before-heard studio recordings from the late artist entitled People, Hell & Angels is set for release on March 4th, 2013.

The tracklisting features familiar songs, but the recordings have entirely different mixes with additional guitar parts and experimentations with horns, keyboards and percussion.

The 12 songs were recorded between 1968 and 1969 at Hendrix’s New York City studio, Electric Ladyland.

For more info on People, Hell & Angels, head to Jimi Hendrix’s official website, and read more on his recently sold guitar at

People, Hell & Angels Tracklisting:

  1. Earth Blues
  2. Somewhere
  3. Hear My Train A Comin
  4. Bleeding Heart
  5. Let Me Move You
  6. Izabella
  7. Easy Blues
  8. Crash Landing
  9. Inside Out
  10. Hey Gypsy Boy
  11. Mojo Man
  12. Villanova Junction Blues

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend

More From WCSX