Classic Rock News Home


Jimi Plays Berkeley

See The Concert Again


Hendrix fans can get even more experienced thanks to this weeks release of a restored and newly expanded edition of Jimi Plays Berkeley, on Blu-ray and DVD from Experience Hendrix LLC and Legacy Recordings.

Back in 1970, May 30th to be exact, Hendrix played two shows at the Berkeley Community Theatre.  According to Legacy Recordings, Jimi Plays Berkeley was created from a new, digitally-restored transfer from the original 16mm negative, Jimi Plays Berkeley premieres more than 15 minutes of previously unseen documentary and performance footage of Hendrix classics including "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)," "Machine Gun" and "Hear My Train A Comin'" not featured in the original film release.

Jimi Plays Berkeley also contain bonus material that is sure to thrill Hendrix fans:  an audio-only presentation of Jimi's complete Berkeley 05/30/1970 second show mixed in 5.1 surround sound. Showcasing 67 minutes of music, the second set concert recordings include "Pass It On (Straight Ahead)," "Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)," "Lover Man," "Stone Free," "Hey Joe," "I Don't Live Today," "Machine Gun," "Foxey Lady," "Star Spangled Banner," "Purple Haze," and "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)."

Order Live At Berkeley HERE.

Read more on this release HERE.